The Perfect Summer Meal

Turkey Burger & Green Bean Salad

One of the things I love the most about summer is the ability to BBQ when I want. There really isn’t anything that can compare. I think most people can agree. This summer I came across one of Rachel Ray’s recipes for what I consider an amazingly delicious turkey burger. As for toppings I have found that virtually anything goes. If you have something that you always have to have on your burger chances are it will go with these flavours.

However there are a few things that I do different from the recipe that I’ve decided I prefer over time:

  • I usually forego the cilantro sour cream sauce (even though I have tried it and really enjoyed it).
  • I don’t add cheddar cheese chunks to my burger mix. I find it’s hard to mix and stay together. You could try shredded cheese because that could hold. I usually just put a slice on top.

Here is what I typically use for toppings:

  • Curry Mayo (mix curry powder with mayo – as much or as little depending on your preference of curry)
  • BBQ organic yellow squash (thinly sliced and marinated in salt, cracked pepper and oregano)
  • Fresh organic hass avocado
  • Organic spinach
  • Slice of cheese (pick your favourite)
  • Organic heirloom tomato slice (I don’t put this on but my husband does)
  • Slice of sweet pickle

Now for the green bean salad – I got this recipe from one of my best friends back in Toronto. It is so easy to make and great for potluck dinners. Here is her recipe below:

Sarah’s Green Bean Salad

Ingredients:

  • Two handfuls of green beans
  • Two handfuls of yellow beans
  • Can of chickpeas
  • 3 shallots
  • 3/4 cup of red wine vinegar
  • Olive oil (as much or as little but usually around 1/2 cup)
  • Fresh basil (6 – 10 leaves)

Trim the ends of the beans and then blanch them. The beans should be cooked but still crunchy. Sometimes the yellow and the green take different amounts of time so you may want to do them separately or just one type of bean like I did. Dice the shallots as small as you can. Cut up the basil. Once you have prepped all ingredients put them all in a bowl together and mix well. Finally add salt and pepper to taste and then let it sit in the fridge for a few hours before serving.

I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

