A new found love of mine….learning to golf in CA.

Since moving to California and having more golf courses than what I know what to do with, naturally I have decided that it is my calling to become an expert at this game. Not to be mistaken for a ‘professional’. I’ve played before and heck I even worked at a golf course in my home town St. Andrews By-the-Sea at the Algonquin Resort (previously owned by Fairmont Resorts) and my best friends husband is even a golf pro! So, I am not totally green to the game but growing up it wasn’t my sport of choice. I was a typical Canadian kid. On ice skates by the age of 4, figure skating and playing hockey competitively by 5 or 6 and then I gradually moved on to new sports as I got older and more coordinated.

Where I’m from it’s only golf season for about 5 months of the year and 2 out of the 5 might be quite chilly at times. Now that I am in a state that has golf year round and I’m a bit older and less competitive athletically why not take up the sport! I’ve been out with my husband for a few rounds so far this season and to the golfing range numerous times. For a wedding gift my brother even bought us each a full set of clubs! (What a guy!)

The top 5 reasons why I love golf :

  • each hour of golf you can burn up to 300 calories!
  • learning something new and continuously challenging myself
  • being outside
  • relaxing
  • quality time spent with my husband

I’m still working on my swing (as you can see above) but eventually I’ll get there! Once I do I’ll be sure to hit up some of the more professional courses in Monterey Bay Peninsula and post pics. Golf is something I’ve learned to love even more since being here so I felt it deserved a post on my blog.

Leave a Reply

