Kale saute, moroccan lentil salad and sweet potato

With all the health and nutrition reading I’ve been up to I decided to try my hand at meatless Monday. Guess what?? I survived and I didn’t even crave any meat! Not only that I felt content. My meal combined a recipe from one of my favorite sites and my own concoction.

HEALTH TIPS

  • Use coconut water as a substitute to oil or butter for sautéing because it will cut the fat significantly in your recipes. It will also add a pleasant flavour and more nutrients. 
  • For your starch go with a sweet potato or yam. Both are gluten-free and healthier than any other potato.

Kale Saute 

Ingredients

            • 1 handful of cut up kale
            • 2 handfuls of spinach
            • 1 broccoli crown
            • 1 portobello mushrooms
            • 1/2 a thinly sliced carrot
            • 1/4 cup of coconut water
            • 2 garlic cloves
            • 1 shallot
            • 1 tsp of soya sauce
            • cayenne pepper to taste
            • ground pepper to taste
            • ground coriander to taste

Instructions

In a frying pan pour 1/2 the amount of coconut water into the pan and add shallots, garlic, carrots and broccoli. Saute about 5 minutes and the then add kale, spinach and portobello mushrooms. Add soya sauce and more coconut water if required. Then simmer on low heat and cover until kale and spinach have wilted. Saute until coconut water is gone. Add spices as you wish and mix evenly.

This was a homemade recipe so measurements are approximate. Use your taste-buds to follow you through the cooking. For an ad hoc recipe I was really impressed with the flavor!

Moroccan Lentil Salad

This recipe was extremely tasty! I definitely recommend to use dry lentils over the canned. They have so much more flavour. I also decided to roast the grape tomatoes instead of adding them raw.

To finish it off I added half of a baked sweet potato. Make sure to eat the skins because that’s where most of the nutrients are.

Happy veggy eating!

Leave a Reply

