Food for thought…..do you know what you are really eating?

I used to live on a US/Canada border back on the east so growing up we purchased US food all the time. It was only as a young adult that I started to learn the differences between our food standards and then tried to get my parents to stop buying certain products such as dairy in the US. Now that I am permanently living in the US this is something I have to take into consideration when grocery shopping. So far living here the only real difference I have experienced is the food (taste, price point, quality, and brands). In Robyn O’Brien’s TEDx Talk she explains the differences between the food we eat in the US (such as milk, corn and soy) vs. other major markets that have rejected the same patented scientifically engineered food products. If you can spare 20 minutes it’s definitely worth your while to watch this video and start thinking about what you are ingesting.

If you are like most people buying organic can be pretty costly. However, after watching this video I am going to make a better effort to buy local organic produce and dairy because I see it as an investment in my health and future. I may not be filling my fridge and cupboards with all organic anytime soon but I will when I can.

3 thoughts on “Food for thought…..do you know what you are really eating?

Leave a Reply

